Thread: Negative looking images when grading IPP2 in resolve?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 Negative looking images when grading IPP2 in resolve? 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    Guadalajara, Mexico
    Posts
    8
    Hey guys, looking for some help, maybe this has happened to someone before. I am trying to grade and export some IPP2 footage in Davinci Resolve and the footage displays these weird negative color looking splices within the clips. I have tried modifying several settings in the raw options but the problem persists. If I play back this clips in RED player or Final Cut the clips appear to be perfectly fine. Any idea why this could be happening and how to fix it?
    Attached Images
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,703
    What are your project settings?
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by Rafael Altamira View Post
    Hey guys, looking for some help, maybe this has happened to someone before. I am trying to grade and export some IPP2 footage in Davinci Resolve and the footage displays these weird negative color looking splices within the clips. I have tried modifying several settings in the raw options but the problem persists. If I play back this clips in RED player or Final Cut the clips appear to be perfectly fine. Any idea why this could be happening and how to fix it?
    I've had great experiences calling into BlackMagic and taking to resolve techs. They're very patient and will likely have a reason. If not, would be nice for it to be a ticket so it can help the next person.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,098
    Can you export a few Red .r3d still frames? Maybe it's a combination of incorrect project settings in Davinci Resolve"s Color Management and or Red Raw IPP2 settings, as Nick alluded to, plus maybe an incorrectly chosen IPP2 Output Transform Lut.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,098
    This looks to me like maybe a legacy color and IPP2 color were combined or 2 IPP2 Output Transform Luts of different or similar color spaces were combined.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,309
    What specific Color Management settings are you using? We're not seeing any problem with the normal IPP2 Red pipeline.
    marc wielage, csi colorist/post consultant daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,041
    Saw another image like this on Facebook recently. I suspect something is up with GPU driver. I would revert to the last stable driver or if there's a newer one maybe give that a whirl. I think they guy on FB had a dual Radeon setup if I recall correctly, but I have no idea without digging deeper.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member jake blackstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,866
    The mystery could be easily solved, if OP just posted a single R3D...
    Jake Blackstone
    Colorist
    Los Angeles
    MOD Color Web Site
    Demo Reel
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,098
    Quote Originally Posted by jake blackstone View Post
    The mystery could be easily solved, if OP just posted a single R3D...
    +1, if it was important enough to start a thread about, surely providing a R3d file or frame to help resolve the problem shouldn't be a lot to ask for.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    125
    Forgot to mention, this happened to me because my computer is too old to process a lot of things in newer Resolve programs. I had to downgrade to an older one to add things like stabilizer filters etc. Just an idea.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts