Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: KOMODO....

Closed Thread
Page 250 of 371 FirstFirst ... 150200240246247248249250251252253254260300350 ... LastLast
Results 2,491 to 2,500 of 3709
  1. #2491  
    Senior Member Robert Hofmeyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by paulcurtis View Post
    I quite like using the EpicW as a stills camera but it's too bulky to do that in anything other than controlled environments. So part of me is curious about the use of Komodo for stills too, especially with that shutter. So the pre-record and monitoring are the two areas of interest. Not that it was designed for this but strikes me that some kind of medium format style handling could be doable. I assume the top screen is UI only (maybe wrong) and that monitoring *has* to be external.
    Jarred has confirmed the top screen displays video as well. Great for medium format style portraiture and maybe even useful for framing in some situations where weight is critical?
     

  2. #2492  
    Member olivier harrault's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bordeaux, France
    Posts
    71
    What kind of Crop can we expect with this freaking new sensor ??
    Also does EF mount adaptater have an impact on the sensor ? I mean do we lost stops by using it ?
     

  3. #2493  
    Senior Member Patrick Tresch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Switzerland, Lausanne
    Posts
    5,073
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Hofmeyr View Post
    Jarred has confirmed the top screen displays video as well. Great for medium format style portraiture and maybe even useful for framing in some situations where weight is critical?

    Framing on a 3 inch screen is challenging. If only it could be 1920x1080 screen we could put a loupe on it and frame like on a Rolleiflex.

    Opening a new era of low angle shooting mode ;-).
     

  4. #2494  
    Senior Member Robert Hofmeyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    633
    Quote Originally Posted by olivier harrault View Post
    What kind of Crop can we expect with this freaking new sensor ??
    About 1.3X in 6KFF according to Phil's very pretty format compare page: http://phfx.com/tools/formatCompare/...20Still%203:2&

    Quote Originally Posted by olivier harrault View Post
    Also does EF mount adaptater have an impact on the sensor ? I mean do we lost stops by using it ?
    No light loss from the EF adapter. Just nicer to use lenses without adapters.
     

  5. #2495  
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarred Land View Post
    Not gonna lie to you.. this is the first time we have made a sensor with PDAF. So I am betting it will take us a few firmwares to get it just right.
    Makes sense.
    Can’t expect everything to be 100% on day One.
    But sure looks like you want to sort more things out before the official launch with this new sensor.

    As Robert mentioned before, I’d very much love to have a stills (1 frame R3D) mode.
    How about we throw that in the idea box for once AF is done?
    Formerly known as "nutman"
    ||| RED ONE #1333 ||| Epic-X #1003 |||
    ||| RED Hydrogen Houdini #0034 Titanium #1014 |||
    H4Vuser
     

  6. #2496  
    Senior Member Bérenger Brillante's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    1,878
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarred Land View Post
    Not gonna lie to you.. this is the first time we have made a sensor with PDAF. So I am betting it will take us a few firmwares to get it just right.
    As long as it's your goal to deliver that particular specs, I'll be on board and a lot of mirroless users will be too.
     

  7. #2497  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    603
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarred Land View Post
    You should be good then. Pretty safe to say after beating on the stormtrooper all day today you can expect full sensor 6k 40fps, 6k WS @ 50fps. Which means 4k @60fps shouldn't be a problem, but I have not actually tested that yet. And yes, that's all in global shutter mode.
    true global shutter

    or global reset?
    Last edited by Billy Jim; 11-22-2019 at 07:05 AM.
     

  8. #2498  
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Pittsburgh PA
    Posts
    72
    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Jim View Post
    true global shutter

    or global reset?
    Seeing as they're two different things and Jarred specifically said global shutter, I'd assume we shouldn't have any reason to think otherwise. Plus, global shutter had been specifically discussed earlier in the thread as well.
     

  9. #2499  
    Senior Member Ryan Sauve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Posts
    888
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarred Land View Post
    ... that probably is not going to happen.
    Ryan Sauvé | @sauvedp
    Epic-W #7950
    Nikon Z6
     

  10. #2500  
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    30
    Could be interesting... EF to RF speedbooster.

    https://www.metabones.com/products/d...B_SPEF-EFR-BT1
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts