Thread: Apple seeks to invalidate Red's Raw patent claims

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
  1. #1 Apple seeks to invalidate Red's Raw patent claims 
    Interesting: https://www.eoshd.com/2019/08/apple-...patent-claims/
    Apple's expert: https://www.docketalarm.com/cases/PT...on_Redcom_314/

Probably a consequence of ProRes Raw and previous related lawsuits initiated by Red (eg. against Sony):
    https://nofilmschool.com/2013/02/mor...rd-red-lawsuit

I studied Patent law and the one thing that I can tell you is that patent law is is dire need of reform in the US for a lot of different reasons: https://www.eetimes.com/author.asp?s...doc_id=1333431
    Last edited by Carlos Garcia-Diaz; 08-15-2019 at 08:40 PM.

Jarred's reply on FB-

Quote Originally Posted by Nathan Grubbs View Post
    Jarred's reply on FB-

where on FB? couldn't find it...

Quote Originally Posted by Fabricio Morato View Post
    where on FB? couldn't find it...
    Here's the quote:

Lol... Apple did not file a lawsuit against Red but rather filed two inter parties re-exam requests with the Patent Office. This is standard operating procedure for patent holders.
    We have a fantastic relationship with Apple and as they publicly announced in June RED and APPLE continue to work on incredible things.... this is all just part of the process 
    And for the people that want to challenge... it is not the first time someone has challenged the Redcode patents and it won’t be the last... and each time our patents have held fast.
    It's in the Red DSMC2 group on a share of the EOSHD article.
    Brandon Veen | Digital Curator at Hedderich's
    Epic-X Dragon #08127 + Fujifilm GFX50R + Leica BLK360

Thanks! Had no idea about this group.

Ning Zhang et al., “Lossless Compression of Color Mosaic
    Images,” IEEE Transactions in Image Processing, vol. 16, no. 6
    (June 2006) (“Zhang”), Ex. 1007;
    • Ben Long, REAL WORLD APERTURE, 1st ed. (July 21, 2006)
    (“Long”), Ex. 1008;