Thread: Shot 47.95fps on a 23.976 timeline. No slow-mo in Premiere, what gives?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 Shot 47.95fps on a 23.976 timeline. No slow-mo in Premiere, what gives? 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    3
    Hey guys—so we shot a project recently. Helium, Prores. DP shot overcranked at 47.95fps for roughly half the shots. But when I bring the footage into Premiere... it looks and acts like normal-speed, 23.976 frames footage. Doesn't play back slowed down. Can't modify>interpret footage because timeline is 23.976. If I try to manually change speed/duration, it looks completely choppy.

    But the metadata definitely shows we shot and captured overcranked... so what's going on here? I haven't run into this issue before, I'm wondering if I'm missing something super basic and I'm just not realizing it. Thoughts?

    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    3
    https://ibb.co/album/ipsUdv

    Link to metadata photo
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,070
    What version of Premiere Pro are you using? I'm assuming the clips played back correctly in camera?

    Just for funsies maybe actually try Interpret Footage w/ the 23.976fps base. If it's for whatever reason getting confused and thinking it's a timebase of 47.95fps it would try to play that back in realtime.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    3
    On the most recent Premiere CC update. Thanks for the tip man, I tried interpret footage, but it didn't work unfortunately. Worth a try for sure. And I asked the DP—he said the clips are actually not playing back in camera correctly.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Jan Balster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Asheville, NC, USA
    Posts
    284
    Maximum frame rate for ProRes 422 HQ, ProRes 422 and ProRes 422 LT at 4K (4096 × 2160) is up to 30 fps.

    Did you shoot at 4K or higher? If so, that might be the problem.

    R3D should play back correctly, though.

    - Jan
    ---------------------------------
    Director/DP
    DSMC2 Gemini "Amy"
    Cable Cam
    MŌVI M10 & PRO
    BlackArm
    ALTA 6

    www.83west.xyz
    https://vimeo.com/user486354
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    1
    If the metadata on the clip is saying it is at 48, then, when the clip is on the timline, right click on the little "fx" box in the upper corner on the clip, change the setting to speed (that changes the adjustment line to speed from opacity) and then drag that line down to your desired % making sure not to go passed 100% of your timeline speed. If you wanted to slow it down to 100%, drag the line down to 50% and not any farther. 24/48=0.50 = 50%

    That should do the trick.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Brendan H. Banks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    896
    Quote Originally Posted by Jan Balster View Post
    Maximum frame rate for ProRes 422 HQ, ProRes 422 and ProRes 422 LT at 4K (4096 × 2160) is up to 30 fps.

    Did you shoot at 4K or higher? If so, that might be the problem.

    R3D should play back correctly, though.

    - Jan
    This. If you didn't toggle down to 2k, you baked your 48fps in at your project rate. There is typically a warning on the screen if you don't flip down from 4k and pass 30fps.
    Brendan H. Banks
    DP
    Epic-W Helium #796
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts