Thread: Helium on set color issue - dull colors.

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Timur Civan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LA - NYC
    Posts
    1,664
    Quote Originally Posted by Björn Benckert View Post
    Think we had the same bug. Also at the same time I had flat pink / no picture on playback when in ipp2 but all worked fine in legacy mode.
    Strangely, now that ive fixed that problem another has popped up. Now the image is insanely noisy.

    Currently re flashing firmware, and black shading. UPloading the issue to Prores HQ 4K from IPP2, will put up a link when its done. bottom half of the image is just incredibly noisy. 800ISO STHL, wich yes will have more noise, but not like this. It has been glued to my camera for 3 years. 800 looks like 3200iso.

    When the blackshades are done i will repost with updates. Monitor color is better. IQ is not.
    Director Of Photography
    RED Weapon Helium - Gemini
    --Official Sigma Pro--
    www.TimurCivan.com
    Timurcivan@gmail.com
    9175894424
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,995
    Footage is noisy on the R3D or Monitor Output? Make sure Sharpness is at 0 if we're talking Monitor Output.

    That sharpening setting does effect the encoded ProRes file.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member Timur Civan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LA - NYC
    Posts
    1,664
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/qp639cea6x...910FW.mov?dl=0

    This is off the R3D 6:1 8K HD, Full debayer. Low Contrast, Very soft highlight IPP2, no other adjustments. 800 ISO -> 4K Prores HQ
    Director Of Photography
    RED Weapon Helium - Gemini
    --Official Sigma Pro--
    www.TimurCivan.com
    Timurcivan@gmail.com
    9175894424
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member Timur Civan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LA - NYC
    Posts
    1,664
    UPDATE:

    Ok so, after re flashing firmware, re blackshading, its looking much better. More in the range of normal. There is still grain, but its not color noise. its the usual tight grain.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kcfkfown9q...910VK.mov?dl=0

    Whew!
    Director Of Photography
    RED Weapon Helium - Gemini
    --Official Sigma Pro--
    www.TimurCivan.com
    Timurcivan@gmail.com
    9175894424
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Nick Morrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    8,685
    Phew! Glad it worked out.
    Nick Morrison
    Founder, Director & Lead Creative
    // SMALL GIANT //
    smallgiant.tv
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member Timur Civan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    LA - NYC
    Posts
    1,664
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Footage is noisy on the R3D or Monitor Output? Make sure Sharpness is at 0 if we're talking Monitor Output.

    That sharpening setting does effect the encoded ProRes file.
    It was in the R3D.
    Director Of Photography
    RED Weapon Helium - Gemini
    --Official Sigma Pro--
    www.TimurCivan.com
    Timurcivan@gmail.com
    9175894424
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    10,995
    Sounds like it was fixed via the newer Sensor Calibration or whatever.

    Times to run a Sensor Cal:
    - Firmware udpate/re-flashing in this case
    - Major temp changes
    - Every so often
    * the camera will now even prompt you when it really needs a sensor cal

    I usually whack one out once a week unless it's crazy temps. Mostly use Manual Calibration.

    Not fully convinced the monitoring thing was an bug, sounds more like something was weird in the monitoring path, but I'm not in front of the camera.

    Whatever the case, happy to hear you're back up and running. I'm a STH fan myself, but it is the noisiest of the OLPFs. But shouldn't be out of this world noisy.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Sounds like it was fixed via the newer Sensor Calibration or whatever.

    Times to run a Sensor Cal:
    - Firmware udpate/re-flashing in this case
    - Major temp changes
    - Every so often
    * the camera will now even prompt you when it really needs a sensor cal

    I usually whack one out once a week unless it's crazy temps. Mostly use Manual Calibration.

    Not fully convinced the monitoring thing was an bug, sounds more like something was weird in the monitoring path, but I'm not in front of the camera.

    Whatever the case, happy to hear you're back up and running. I'm a STH fan myself, but it is the noisiest of the OLPFs. But shouldn't be out of this world noisy.
    I've seen this, I doubt its monitoring. As when I had it also playback was broken. I even think I took the mag from the helium and tested to playback in monstro. Then also on monstro playback was a flat pink image / no playback but in resolve / rcxp all was ok. Shifting over to legacy pipeline and all was ok but IPP2 with rec709 was simply not rec709 even though all settings was identical to what I had on monstro right next to it.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se
    Flame / VFX / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts