Thread: RED GEMINI shoots on its own

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 RED GEMINI shoots on its own 
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2
    Hi guys,
    I'm having quite a serious problem with the GEMINI. It happens that, usually beginning of shoot-day or when changing mags, when switching on the camera something triggers it to roll. It starts rolling on its own and if I cut, it starts again. The only solution is to eject media and re-insert the mag again. Then it usually goes back to normal. Any ideas of what is causing this?

    It's quite annoying cause I need to re-format a couple of times before it stops doing it.
    I have 2x RED 120gb mags.

    Thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,012
    What's your entire setup like? Are you powering any third party accessories via the D tap port? Is your SSD bay securely seated/mounted on the camera?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2
    https://imgur.com/wVsskKW

    This is my setup from the last shoot. I use all the D taps, respectively for Shinobi monitor, Teradek and Nucleus (missing in the pic)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Could be that your screen and wireless draw to much power and that makes camera behave odd. Seen that happen before. Test by feeding screen and other stufff from it own bat.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se
    Flame / VFX / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Aaron Green's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    132
    Do you have the Nucleus connected to the CTRL port?
    Aaron Green - Chicago, IL
    DRAGON X
    www.instagram.com/aaronkgreen
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Aaron Lochert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    1,012
    What Bjorn said. That's what I was trying to get at when asking what other accessories you were powering from that same D-Tap. The DSMC2 D-Tap is max 3.0 Amp draw, 11.5-17v.

    The Nucleus-M is probably the biggest culprit for overdrawing power. Have you ever had it trigger an auto-record when the Nucleus motor hits a hard stop on the lens? I've seen that plenty of times before.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,057
    First and foremost see if WiFi is on.

    But pretty much what others suggested from there.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Weapon 8K VV Monstro Bodies and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts