Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: Komodo Batteries

Reply to Thread
Page 14 of 19 FirstFirst ... 4101112131415161718 ... LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 188
  1. #131  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Boiling Springs, PA
    Posts
    219
    Can anyone chime in on whether unsupported batteries work but just give a warning and no battery percentage readout? Someone said they get an unsupported warning which pops up every 15 minutes? I wouldn't care if it only happened once but that could become a nuisance on set.
    DSMC2 GEMINI + STORMTROOPER KOMODO
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #132  
    Senior Member Daniel Stilling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    US, Denmark
    Posts
    1,919
    The warning only happens when you attach a battery to the camera.
    I'm in week 3 of shooting a feature film with 8 Kastars on my Komodo as an A cam. If you stay on top of when batteries switch when depleted, and you hotswap them, then it works without issue.
    Daniel Stilling, DFF (Danish Society of Cinematographers)
    Director Of Photography
    www.danieldp.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #133  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Boiling Springs, PA
    Posts
    219
    Thanks Daniel. Glad it is only when you attach a battery and not a reoccuring warning. Thanks for the clarification.
    DSMC2 GEMINI + STORMTROOPER KOMODO
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #134  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    21
    Thanks for the tip on how to manage those batteries, Trying to find OEM canon Bp-955's right now seems harder than buying a Komodo ST.
    1st AC | Movi Operator | Shotover & Freefly Pilot | RED Komodo ST #839 | Nikon Z6 Shooter | DZO Film 20-55

    #crashingisntanoption
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #135  
    Senior Member Mark Andersen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,402
    I created a makeshift cable to power the Komodo off the Ronin S gimbal. I know that the Komodo will accept anywhere from 7-17 volts. (my batteries only show 6.8 volts however) the Ronin is providing 11.1 volts so that seems ok. Amps are at 2.0 vs. the batteries provide 2.4 amps. Does anyone out there see any potential issues or problems with powering the camera this way? The Komodo booted up and I didn't get and warnings or other issues. I did some recording and it seemed to work fine. If this works it could solve a lot of gimbal issues and be very handy.
    Silver Lake Studios Inc.
    Film Production and Stock Footage
    Rentals and other goodies at
    www.utahcinevideo.com
    www.slsfilm.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #136  
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Kommers View Post
    Thanks for the tip on how to manage those batteries, Trying to find OEM canon Bp-955's right now seems harder than buying a Komodo ST.
    I've found 15 this week. You just need to be super creative where you look.
    Documentary Cinematographer - NYC Based
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #137  
    Senior Member steve green's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, Ca
    Posts
    997
    Quote Originally Posted by Adam D. Ouellette View Post
    I've found 15 this week. You just need to be super creative where you look.
    Nice tip Adam........I found the four I was looking for at Walmart. Thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #138  
    Junior Member JamieW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maine, USA
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by steve green View Post
    Nice tip Adam........I found the four I was looking for at Walmart. Thanks!
    Good lord, $295 a pop via Walmart!
    - Jamie
    Gemini & Komodo ST Owner // Photographer // Director
    @JWalter1337 // @PamolaCreative
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #139  
    Senior Member steve green's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, Ca
    Posts
    997
    Quote Originally Posted by JamieW View Post
    Good lord, $295 a pop via Walmart!
    Hmmm. I paid 135.00 per for the BP-955's.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #140  
    Senior Member steve green's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Thousand Oaks, Ca
    Posts
    997
    So much for that great idea....Walmart just cancelled my order saying they don't have those batteries in stock.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts