Thread: Colour grading software other than resolve

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Antony Newman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    London, UK.
    Posts
    1,618
    Daniel - Have you reached out to BlackMagic (on their forum)?

    For people that go to effort of providing a downloadable clip that can repeatably demonstrate a problem - I have found they reach out and (where possible) fix the issue.

    AJ
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by Antony Newman View Post
    Daniel - Have you reached out to BlackMagic (on their forum)?

    For people that go to effort of providing a downloadable clip that can repeatably demonstrate a problem - I have found they reach out and (where possible) fix the issue.

    AJ
    I've tried but I'm not recieving the activation email so I cant post. I've called and emailed blackmagic 3 days ago and still havent received a response. When I do I will defiantly post there... I actually do love editing on resolve but high speed footage doesn't work for me at the moment :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Porto View Post
    The original .cineraw files were converted to .mov on a 25fps timebase. I figured out the problem... Resolve. Final Cut Pro 6, 7 or X and Premiere are able to render slow motion footage at 60p. Avid can do above that to 120p. Resolve is the bottleneck but don't believe me see for yourself those that are interested. But considering most wont go above 30fps Resolve is fine. Im using it for a 24p project right now.

    Thanks all for the comments and help :)

    Just so I understand what playback framrate are planining for your master? Why the high framerate?
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se/axis
    VFX / Flame / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by Björn Benckert View Post
    Just so I understand what playback framrate are planining for your master? Why the high framerate?
    I was planning on on posting the short to youtube at 60fps, and then having a link to purchase and download the 100FPS file. I like the high-frame rate character motion. Camera motion doesn't look good though so have to shoot it locked off pretty much for all shots.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    10,087
    What kind of shutter are you planing to use? How are you going to light this?
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    179
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Gundu View Post
    What kind of shutter are you planing to use? How are you going to light this?
    180 degree shutter most likely, not sure about lighting yet. Im shooting in australia 50hz btw
    Last edited by Daniel Porto; 04-03-2020 at 09:08 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Raphael_Carpenter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    819
    Can't see the point now to use anything else than DaVinci Resolve...


    FILMMAKER | PHOTOGRAPHER

    WEAPON 6K / ALEXA MINI / COOKE
    Video Production | Professional Photography
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    355
    hummm, i have some footage from a Phantom on my system, transcoded to DNxUncompressed @23.98 tmebase, and we finished at 23.98 no issues
    you are saying if we transcoded to a 60Fps timebase, and ran in a 60Fps project there would be an issue? not undestanding why on earth that would be

    all my gear is in boxes for the next week while we have the cellings pulled down to re-do the HVAC in the studio, with everyone but me and the CFO working form home, it's the perfect time for it
    when i have a functioning system again, and no cleints asking for time, i'll give it a little test
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member jake blackstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,912
    Quote Originally Posted by Raphael_Carpenter View Post
    Can't see the point now to use anything else than DaVinci Resolve...
    How is your statement any different from this one?
    "Can't see the point now to use anything else than ARRI"
    Jake Blackstone
    Colorist
    Los Angeles
    MOD Color Web Site
    Demo Reel
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    1,810
    Davinci Resolve 16 and probably 17, 18, etc.. for only $299, ARRI camera's start at around $50k, for some this is not a problem, for others it is.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts