Thread: Why oh why dont Davinci have the autosave on by default

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 Why oh why dont Davinci have the autosave on by default 
    Senior Member Joel Arvidsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,946
    Unbeliaveable!!!
    Epic #06696
    Epic-W #004069
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    10,151
    It’s a love hate thing. I have found it can actually cause crashes sometimes with the feature on.
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Its one of the most shittiest defaults I ever seen. In such a great app with so many updates, still that shit is flicked off. :)
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se/axis
    VFX / Flame / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Joel Arvidsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,946
    In premiere I turned it of cause it made the program less stable. But in Davinci I have not problem with stability. So I have never had to use any autosaves. Lesson learned. You still have to cuddle with Davinci and tick all its boxes in order to make it spin like a cat.
    Epic #06696
    Epic-W #004069
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,250
    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Arvidsson View Post
    In premiere I turned it of cause it made the program less stable. But in Davinci I have not problem with stability. So I have never had to use any autosaves. Lesson learned. You still have to cuddle with Davinci and tick all its boxes in order to make it spin like a cat.
    Incorporating multiple apps into Resolve has greatly complicated initial setup and optimization.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member jake blackstone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    3,912
    Quote Originally Posted by Joel Arvidsson View Post
    Unbeliaveable!!!
    I asked this very question when the first beta version of Resolve was released by BMD after buying DaVinci.
    Yes, I was one of the beta testers.
    Well, after all these years, it is still off by default...
    Jake Blackstone
    Colorist
    Los Angeles
    MOD Color Web Site
    Demo Reel
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,124
    Quote Originally Posted by jake blackstone View Post
    I asked this very question when the first beta version of Resolve was released by BMD after buying DaVinci.
    Yes, I was one of the beta testers.
    Well, after all these years, it is still off by default...
    My OCD helps in this matter :)
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hollywood, USA
    Posts
    6,358
    Yeah, that is an annoyance. Live Save is the new version of a similar feature, and that will solve the problem 99% of the time. What I do is, I use Live Save and then, if I take an extended break halfway through the session, or as I leave at the end of the day, I'll do a manual backup and just export the project. That only takes about :30 seconds. I keep that on a thumbdrive, just on the impossible chance that the project database and/or a hard drive goes south. I can always rebuild the project with that. I've had to use the backups only twice in ten years, and both times it was because of a failed drive, not because of Resolve per se.
    marc wielage, csi • colorist/post consultant • daVinci Resolve Certified Trainer
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts