Thread: What tripod will you use for Komodo?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 What tripod will you use for Komodo? 
    I'm sure this will generate responses all over the board, and admittedly I haven't paid much attention to the tripod market over the last 3-4 years. I've been using a Manfrotto 509 kit for my DSMC2 for probably 7 years, which served me well. I'm looking at Komodo as a chance to downsize in every way.

So I'm curious what tripods people are liking these days or plan to use with small Komodo builds? Last I remember, Miller had some nice offerings in this arena -- anyone else worth paying attention to?

I really like my RRS head and sticks-

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...head_with.html

Thinking about getting their new burly head and video sticks as well for larger rigs-

https://www.reallyrightstuff.com/fh-7240
    Daniel Kelly Brown
    www.danielkellybrown.com

Will depend on how people want to rig the Komodo will determine the tripods you'd want to use. For me and the work I do, I've been a fan of the Sachtler System FSB 8 Fluid Head, Flowtech 75 Carbon Fiber Tripod. Light weight easy to move around with. I'd probably use that with "larger" Komodo builds.

But then just a small light weight travel tripod when I'm on the go hiking or what not.
    Benjamin Jarvis - Multiple hats kind of guy

Hydrogen Houdini #62

I'd expect to use it with my lightweight Miller Air, which I mount on a set of Gitzo legs for travelling light (I usually use this rig for a DSLR or locked-off B-cam). But I think I might have an old Manfrotto 701 in my closet that could probably handle the Komodo stripped down and center-balanced...hmm...

All that said, no reason it won't often find itself on my regular Sachtler kit.