Thread: ISSUE in DAVINCI with 1 out of 96 shots.

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 ISSUE in DAVINCI with 1 out of 96 shots. 
    Hi guys,

I'm a DOP who's shot on RED occasionally over the last 10 years or so, however I bought a Gemini end of last year after testing one and loving it. Since the UK lockdown I've shot a project and now I'm doing something I haven't done much of before - grading R3D's. After a lot of research on settings in Davinci studio, I set my project and added an IPP2 to REC709 LUT to my end node (FYI - I have a reasonable amount of Davinci experience and have graded other cameras - so NOT a complete noob)

So all my clips look nice and viewable ahead of the grade, except one - it has this weird colour break up especially noticeable on the skin and in the water. I added a LUT in premiere and it doesn't show on my edit at all - the guys skin is kinda blotchy as he's just been running - but only when I view this 1 clip (out of 96) in Davinci it looks terrible. I can't work it out. Wondering if anyone can shed some light on it?

This is a screenshot of the R3D opened in premiere

MAKING GOOD_WIP_V8 (Resolve).00_00_51_22.Still001.jpg

And this is the same R3D file in Davinci with IPP2 to REC709 LUT applied.

MAKING GOOD_WIP_V8 (Resolve).00_00_51_22.Still002.jpg

CAMERA SETTINGS

Color space - REDWideGamutRGB
    Gamma Curve - LOG 3G10

Camera Firmware Version: 7.2.2
    Camera Sensor: GEMINI 5K S35
    Minimum Color Version: 2
    Resolution: 5120x2700
    FrameRate Num: 25000
    FrameRate Den: 1000
    Reel ID: A007_C020_0112E1
    Timecode Preference: Absolute
    Edge Timecode: 01:12:13:13
    Absolute Timecode: 16:09:34:03
    Camera ID: A
    Clip ID: 020
    Brightness: 0
    Contrast: 0
    Digital Gain Blue: 1
    Digital Gain Green: 1
    Digital Gain Red: 1
    Exposure Compensation: 0
    Exposure Time: 2e+04
    GenLock Setting: 0
    GMT Date: 20000112
    GMT Time: 160933
    ISO: 400
    Jam Sync Setting: 0
    Local Date: 20000112