Thread: Drone to cut with Dragon sensor - question for an upcoming project

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 Drone to cut with Dragon sensor - question for an upcoming project 
    Hi there everybody,

I'm working on a project where I want to cut between aerials and dragon footage from the ground.

This project has a modest budget, we can't afford to put my dragon in the sky so looking for alternatives.

It will hit TV and larger projection spaces at museums, film festivals, etc. and I'm hoping to avoid significant difference in quality/aesthetic when cutting from air to ground. I know there will have to be some trade off, but I'm hoping to find the best compromise possible.

We're finishing in 4K DCI so resolution not so much an issue than sensor size, dynamic range, raw capture.

Could anyone help me out here?

From my research it's looking like Inspire 2 + X7 could be the way to go, but I have no experience here and I'd love to hear from you all.

Thanks

The Mavic 2 Pro has a 1" sensor and delivers a 4K, 3840x2160 image. The image is very nice and certainly on the less expensive side. Depends on what you consider as being acceptable. Might be worth considering.

But the Inspire with the X7 is definitely better, imho.

Thanks Mark. We've got a Mavick 2 which I love for social media projects even okay for TVC but looking for a little bit more for this project.

In your opinion, how much better do you find the X7? Just a little or considerably?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Phelan View Post
    The Mavic 2 Pro has a 1" sensor and delivers a 4K, 3840x2160 image. The image is very nice and certainly on the less expensive side. Depends on what you consider as being acceptable. Might be worth considering.

But the Inspire with the X7 is definitely better, imho.