Thread: komodo sdi recording

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1 komodo sdi recording 
    Hey everyone I'm new to red cameras and considering getting a komodo. Is it possible to record raw internally while sending 4k signal thru sdi to be also recorded externally? Im thinking it would be pretty trick to pair the komodo with a BM external recorder since it has mini xlr's with phantom power.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Don't know why it should not.

    Komodo doesn't care what you are doing with the SDI signal out of the camera. And the SDI is working while recording, so?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,879
    Yes. Komodo handles SDI out 4K or 2K while recording.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Russ Fill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    World wide working
    Posts
    1,660
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Yes. Komodo handles SDI out 4K or 2K while recording.
    Could you then record 4k 120 externally?
    Epic Forged Monstro (Camera 101)
    Epic X (Tribal)
    mindsetmedia@mac.com
    https://vimeo.com/user4448312
    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/russfill/
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    10,189
    Quote Originally Posted by Russ Fill View Post
    Could you then record 4k 120 externally?
    Nope.
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    Instagram
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Digital FX Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,117
    Its definitely possible to record the SDI signal, but why?
    www.digitalfx.tv

    Twitter
    Instagram

    RED One #83
    RED CF Monstro 8K VV
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,879
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg M View Post
    Its definitely possible to record the SDI signal, but why?
    Dailies, Video Village editing tasks, emergency backup, etc. Lots of reasons.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Digital FX Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,117
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    Dailies, Video Village editing tasks, emergency backup, etc. Lots of reasons.
    good point...
    but I have all that in my .r3d
    proxies on the server and linked to r3ds while LTO copies are being written all before the first editor arrives :)
    www.digitalfx.tv

    Twitter
    Instagram

    RED One #83
    RED CF Monstro 8K VV
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    11,879
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg M View Post
    good point...
    but I have all that in my .r3d
    proxies on the server and linked to r3ds while LTO copies are being written all before the first editor arrives :)
    That's your workflow and moderately mine most of the time as well.

    It's pretty common on episodic and features to feed a signal to Video Village to slam into an edit to make sure things click before a card even leaves the camera. I'm not really into that, but it's been going on for many years now.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Digital FX Greg M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    5,117
    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Holland View Post
    That's your workflow and moderately mine most of the time as well.

    It's pretty common on episodic and features to feed a signal to Video Village to slam into an edit to make sure things click before a card even leaves the camera. I'm not really into that, but it's been going on for many years now.
    yep...we did it for years. Started from the video tap of our film camera into the old DV clamshells, think I still have one.
    so glad we have evolved past all that :)
    www.digitalfx.tv

    Twitter
    Instagram

    RED One #83
    RED CF Monstro 8K VV
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    RED CF Weapon 8K S35 Helium
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts