Thread: My first RED.

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 My first RED. 
    Hey folks,

Today is the day i finally get to join the RED community, I have been a long time fan and supporter of these camera systems. I have been working with System cameras since i was around 15 years old (24 Years old now) And have been working with everything from Live productions to festival productions, small Indy projects, Freelance and some DoP work.

I got a good deal on a R1 Kit with low hours (556 hours) for around $2.000 and got a bunch of extra stuff, allthough not a insane amount of accessories as some of the bigger kits out there has, but the things i got with is in near mint contition!

What i got with the kit

#Red ONE body
    #RED LCD
    #RED DRIVE (640gb)
    # 4x 16Gb CF Cards
    #Nikon Mount
    #PL Mount
    #V Mount & Drive cage
    #19mm Rail system (With all brackets)
    #FOTGA mattebox
    #a bunch of LIMO cables
    #CF Module

But from doing a bunch of research, i have found the CF cards to limit the quality? Not beeing fast enough for the best setting and i would need to use a RED mini mag module.
    From what ive understood these are getting more and more rare to come by

Cant wait to get to use this and get into the RED Eco system, If anyone has some tips and tricks im all ears!

Hers a shot of the rig (was building it in my garage)
    Attached Images

Welcome to the community. The Red One is one serious camera that produces beautiful pictures. The suggestions I can give for the MX sensor are as follows :

1- Don't use ISO above 800 (ISO 1280 is the maximum noise I personally find acceptable)

2- Iso 400 produces, for me at least, the most beautiful picture on the One.

3- Be careful with the V mount batteries you use. If you can, use Red Original ones with the One. I didn't use them much myself, but I remember a lot of stories of problems with the one and they were because of using bad third party batteries.

Happy Shooting!