Thread: New to Vegas.

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 New to Vegas. 
    I'm currently a DP with a production that is using the RedOne for the first time. As it turns out, they are using PC and Sony Vegas.

We are on a tight turn around schedule as far as getting the footage to edit, and I was curious what the best/fastest way to get my footage to the timeline.

I have thus far figured that Vegas can take R3d files into the timeline, but since this is my first time with it I have a couple of questions.

1) What does one see in Vegas when you import R3D? Do you see the RAW look or the settings you used in camera, or neither (like proxies 'look')?

2) How can I use RedCine-X to get a first pass, and still get this look to the one that is imported to Vegas. My past editors used to reference my redcineX work for FCP without me rendering and I have no idea how they did that. I'm hoping this can be done with Vegas.

I'm a very knowledgable cinematographer who lacks post-experience. I usually have red-capable post team to help me, but these guys are newbies to RED, and I'm afraid Sony Vegas was never my cup of tea. I was taught on AVID, and once a year use FCP to make a demo reel. That's about it.

Thanks for the help and I'm sorry if I come across as an idiot! :)

1) WYSIWYG .. i think you can set up 2 options under red properties in Vegas .. think they are 1 or 2 and you can do RGB CC etc ... you can apply a setting to one clip then paste to other serveral clips ..last i knew you have to undo one at a time .. in general when i use V i give a quick CC using Red properties .. then fine tune when edit is locked using Vegas CC plug in's ..
    my final is usually blu ray ..

2) if you CC in Redcine X 1st then you would have to render out of Redcine X ..

or when finsihed editing , you can render out of vegas log type clips ( very low contrast) ..and then take into 3rd party CC

or use Miltos Pilalitos workflow

1) Edit in Vegas
    2) Export EDL
    3) Import EDL to REDCINE-X