Thread: Creating animated GPS Coordinates in AF CC

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 Creating animated GPS Coordinates in AF CC 
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    1,381
    Hi Guys,

    I need to create a small after effects animation for a corporate video where I need GPS coordinates counting upwards in a shot where a drone flies towards a building, the coordinates are in the format:

    43º 27'53.59" N

    and I need the counter slowly going up from 43 degrees onwards.
    I'm an absolute AF noob and was wondering if there is a quick and easy way to achieve this ?

    thanks for the help.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Cinematographer & Photographer
    Epic-X "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    https://vimeo.com/user1737043
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member paulherrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Johnson City, TN
    Posts
    3,291
    http://www.gpsbabel.org/

    ^^ will something like this work?
    Scarlet-X #970 "Silver"
    paulherrin.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Central Coast Australia
    Posts
    164
    The easiest way is to use the "numbers" effect. I'd only worry about animating 53.59.
    You will need to create the 43" 27' " N as a separate text layer. Then create a new solid layer, add the "numbers" effect, make sure you format to the left in the settings dialogue otherwise the numbers will move undesirably, then keyframe the value/offset/random max parameter as desired.
    Align the two layers as required.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Matt Gerard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    115
    try videohive.net, they have a ton of preset AE projects with all sorts of HUD elements. Search for HUD or counters. should be able to find something that will work.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,195
    I bet there is script that will use pixel coordinates with a null tracker.

    I can think of the idea but I cant script :P

    LOL!
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Eric Santiago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,195
    Dominik do you have an idea for the look?

    I might have some time tomorrow night to do it for you :)
    < Someday I'll be cool enough to have something witty here >
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Dominik Muench's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast - Australia
    Posts
    1,381
    Paul: Thanks heaps but I dont actually have "real" gps data as such....I just need to make up a piece of footage of what it will look like once I do get some drone footage that needs a real data overlay, but thanks heaps I ll keep that as reference for the future.

    Mark: Cheers for the tip, I didnt think of the two separate layers, I actually had issues with all the period and degree symbols in the number string.

    Eric: that would be wicked :) pm'ed you.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Cinematographer & Photographer
    Epic-X "Lucy"
    http://www.blacksun-productions.com
    https://vimeo.com/user1737043
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts