Thread: Tutorials for Newcomers to Premiere Pro

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 12345612 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 129
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Brad Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by Tehben Dean View Post
    Would love to know the best workflow for sending projects to Davinci Resolve. Currently I use FCP, export XML and conform in Resolve.
    Hi Tehben!

    I'm not currently using Da Vinci so will be unable to cover this in any great detail unfortunately! Your workflow sounds right and would be what I would recommend though. Are you struggling with any part of it currently?

    Edit: oh I see you're using FCP! Sorry for not reading properly. You're workflow should be almost identical in Premiere. Export a FCP XML from PPro and use that to conform with in Da Vinci :)

    I might go through some of those cross-platform/cross-software issues. Sounds like it would be worth it :)
    Last edited by Brad Allen; 11-08-2011 at 12:14 PM.
    Brad Allen

    mob: +61 411 350 829
    web: unravel.com.au
    Scarlet-X: #308
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member Tehben Dean's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portland. OR
    Posts
    1,202
    Thanks Brad!

    I just got PPro and have not used it much yet. Seems like I heard somewhere that PPro XMLs work great with FCP but not necessarily with other programs...? I will definitely give it a shot.
    TEHBEN DEAN - stills & motion
    EPIC-X #557
    www.thedeanbrothers.com
    I love to shoot beautiful things with cameras...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member Brad Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by Tehben Dean View Post
    Thanks Brad!

    I just got PPro and have not used it much yet. Seems like I heard somewhere that PPro XMLs work great with FCP but not necessarily with other programs...? I will definitely give it a shot.
    Hmm, there was some issues with Da Vinci when CS 5.5.0 first came out because it was using an old version of FCP XML. That was addressed in the CS 5.5.1 update though, so just make sure you are up to date and you should be right :)
    Brad Allen

    mob: +61 411 350 829
    web: unravel.com.au
    Scarlet-X: #308
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Senior Member AJ Aguirre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    285
    Yes this would be really really great, I just switched to adobe yesterday. I like the suggested points in your first post.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member Brad Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    709
    Welcome to the club AJ! Anything in particular you would like more info on?
    Brad Allen

    mob: +61 411 350 829
    web: unravel.com.au
    Scarlet-X: #308
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member PatrickFaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,330
    I would like to see HDRx work flow if possible. I also do a lot of mixing matte's with shots in adobe after effects ... but have never used the HDRx options.
    Thanks much in advanced.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member AJ Aguirre's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Waco, TX
    Posts
    285
    My main interest is in the workflow as a newcomer to not only adobe but also red.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Senior Member Olivier Madar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Asnieres (very near Paris)
    Posts
    529
    Hi Brad,

    Very useful thread

    First question :
    I would like to know how to edit in PP R3D then grade in RCX then update all the RMD in PP. I think it is not possible so, what could be a workaround ?

    Second question :
    I found that editing R3D in QuadHD on a 1080P timeline in PP gives you a "yellow line" instead of a "red line", and PP is much more responsive, even on a macbookpro. So, it will be my ay for fast editing. BUT, when I want to do a 200% scale in the PP timeline, I loose image quality in the render. much more than if I crop inside the quadHD image. So, what do you suggest to be able to zoom from 100% to 200% inside PP for a 1080p rendering ?

    Best regards,



    Olivier
    Epic dragon, scarlett, K5600, Dedolight
    Paris
    The frenchie doc
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Senior Member Brad Allen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    NSW, Australia
    Posts
    709
    Hi Oliver!

    Thanks for these questions. I'll try to incorporate them into the videos. On the second question, just to get a better idea of what your wanting to achieve, why are you zooming in at 200%? Is this because your footage was originally shot too wide and you're wanting to change the framing, or something else?
    Brad Allen

    mob: +61 411 350 829
    web: unravel.com.au
    Scarlet-X: #308
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member Zeb B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    SoCali
    Posts
    3,331
    -ZEB
    http://bit.ly/1fAvBwe

    Looking for a Canon K35 T1.4 set - I got the 18mm - need the others

    "I'm just a creative hack having fun with the amazing Dragon!"

    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts