Thread: Anyone using eSata with their Red Station 1.8" and a PC?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Anyone using eSata with their Red Station 1.8" and a PC? 
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    113
    I can't seem to get it hot swappable, which makes the station really annoying to use... I enabled AHCI in Windows 7 and in my BIOS, but it still seems flakey... I'd like it act like a CF card reader: the drive exists if a SSD card is plugged into the station, and no drive exists if none is plugged in. What are other people's experience with using eSata for the station and a PC? I read that hot swappable eSata is not possible with a MAC.

    I'm also getting weird transfer times. When copying data to the SSD card in the station, I'm getting great transfer rates from about 75 mb/s to 95 mb/s. BUT, when copying that same data off of the SSD card, I'm getting less than 1 mb/s! Something isn't right.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member PatrickFaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,336
    mine works real well, windows 7, mother board is Rampage IV Extreme. I didn't do anything aside from clicking it in. I don't power down the redstation while windows 7 is running because things hang for a bit (so i don't turn it off).
    http://www.youtube.com/patrickfaithart
    "Litl" #250 "Pudl" #397 of "Ink" (Monochrome) #3752
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,302
    Mine is also working well, Sony Vaio laptop.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    113
    What happens when you pull the card out? Does the drive get removed from the list?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    152
    Mine works well as it shoot on an HP workstation. From what I understand, if the eSata port is added as a card, it may have hot swap problems, especialy depends on the manufacturor, some state they don't support hot swap. If the eSata is on the motherboard - then for sure it hot swaps.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    113
    Ok, with AHCI setup in my Bios properly, I can insert the SSD mag into the Red station and the 'drive' pops up. The only annoying thing is that when I pull it out, Windows 7 takes a long time to figure out that it isn't there.

    The main problem now is not hot-swapping but rather transfer speed. I'm only getting about 2.5 mb/s when trying to copy data off the SSD mag to a hard drive in my computer. My hard drives are capable of 100 mb/s from my NAS. What is wrong?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member TonySegreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    325
    Do you have a separate PCIE eSata card or are you using an eSata port onboard your mobo? I had similar issues with my onboard eSata port. Got a $25 eSata card and stopped having the issues. Also of note, I had to force the drivers that came with the pcie card onto the computer, even though when I first put in the card Windows 7 said that the drivers were good. I get around 75-100MB/s up and down. For small files I have maxed at 160.
    VigilanteHD - New York Video Production
    Scarlet #94 - NYC, Come Rent SOME!
    Have a Scarlet Package in New York? Looking to source out gear? Got a Red Rocket in your pocket? Join our google doc!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by TonySegreto View Post
    Do you have a separate PCIE eSata card or are you using an eSata port onboard your mobo? I had similar issues with my onboard eSata port. Got a $25 eSata card and stopped having the issues. Also of note, I had to force the drivers that came with the pcie card onto the computer, even though when I first put in the card Windows 7 said that the drivers were good. I get around 75-100MB/s up and down. For small files I have maxed at 160.
    Can you share which $25 esata card you are referring to?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member TonySegreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    325
    VigilanteHD - New York Video Production
    Scarlet #94 - NYC, Come Rent SOME!
    Have a Scarlet Package in New York? Looking to source out gear? Got a Red Rocket in your pocket? Join our google doc!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts