Thread: Anyone using eSata with their Red Station 1.8" and a PC?

Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1 Anyone using eSata with their Red Station 1.8" and a PC? 
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    99
    I can't seem to get it hot swappable, which makes the station really annoying to use... I enabled AHCI in Windows 7 and in my BIOS, but it still seems flakey... I'd like it act like a CF card reader: the drive exists if a SSD card is plugged into the station, and no drive exists if none is plugged in. What are other people's experience with using eSata for the station and a PC? I read that hot swappable eSata is not possible with a MAC.

    I'm also getting weird transfer times. When copying data to the SSD card in the station, I'm getting great transfer rates from about 75 mb/s to 95 mb/s. BUT, when copying that same data off of the SSD card, I'm getting less than 1 mb/s! Something isn't right.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Senior Member PatrickFaith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,273
    mine works real well, windows 7, mother board is Rampage IV Extreme. I didn't do anything aside from clicking it in. I don't power down the redstation while windows 7 is running because things hang for a bit (so i don't turn it off).
    http://www.youtube.com/patrickfaithart
    "Litl" #250 "Pudl" #397 of "Ink" (Monochrome) #3752
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,149
    Mine is also working well, Sony Vaio laptop.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    99
    What happens when you pull the card out? Does the drive get removed from the list?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    137
    Mine works well as it shoot on an HP workstation. From what I understand, if the eSata port is added as a card, it may have hot swap problems, especialy depends on the manufacturor, some state they don't support hot swap. If the eSata is on the motherboard - then for sure it hot swaps.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    99
    Ok, with AHCI setup in my Bios properly, I can insert the SSD mag into the Red station and the 'drive' pops up. The only annoying thing is that when I pull it out, Windows 7 takes a long time to figure out that it isn't there.

    The main problem now is not hot-swapping but rather transfer speed. I'm only getting about 2.5 mb/s when trying to copy data off the SSD mag to a hard drive in my computer. My hard drives are capable of 100 mb/s from my NAS. What is wrong?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member TonySegreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    296
    Do you have a separate PCIE eSata card or are you using an eSata port onboard your mobo? I had similar issues with my onboard eSata port. Got a $25 eSata card and stopped having the issues. Also of note, I had to force the drivers that came with the pcie card onto the computer, even though when I first put in the card Windows 7 said that the drivers were good. I get around 75-100MB/s up and down. For small files I have maxed at 160.
    VigilanteHD - New York Video Production
    Scarlet #94 - NYC, Come Rent SOME!
    Have a Scarlet Package in New York? Looking to source out gear? Got a Red Rocket in your pocket? Join our google doc!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Quote Originally Posted by TonySegreto View Post
    Do you have a separate PCIE eSata card or are you using an eSata port onboard your mobo? I had similar issues with my onboard eSata port. Got a $25 eSata card and stopped having the issues. Also of note, I had to force the drivers that came with the pcie card onto the computer, even though when I first put in the card Windows 7 said that the drivers were good. I get around 75-100MB/s up and down. For small files I have maxed at 160.
    Can you share which $25 esata card you are referring to?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member TonySegreto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    296
    VigilanteHD - New York Video Production
    Scarlet #94 - NYC, Come Rent SOME!
    Have a Scarlet Package in New York? Looking to source out gear? Got a Red Rocket in your pocket? Join our google doc!
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts