Thread: PISS OFF SCAMERS!!! Shady E-mail grabber "Lori Carson, Broadcast Video Warehouse"

Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11  
    Senior Member Will Keir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,951
    Is that "homeless" you and your dog in the picture?

    Quote Originally Posted by Josh Beadle View Post
    Psycho Clowns do it to me . . . well that and spam from Lori
    Will Keir
    Creative Director ~ Jumping Rock Pictures
    Epic X #2482 / R1 #3033

    "Why I choose film?
    The friendships, the adventure, the art."
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #12  
    Senior Member Josh Beadle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    SoCali
    Posts
    1,880
    Quote Originally Posted by Will Keir View Post
    Is that "homeless" you and your dog in the picture?
    Yeah, back when I shot with a Sony times were tough. Business much better now with RED. Dog likes it better too
    Josh
    Epic-M 1388 aka "Black Sheep"
    ATV FamFun

    It's not your camera's fault:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJm2EGNIod0&feature=related
    "Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst"
    Henri Cartier-Bresson

    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #13  
    Senior Member David Collard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Toronto, mostly
    Posts
    420
    If you had any idea how much you are being tracked/tabulated, you wouldn't feel so offended by her solicitation.
    David in Toronto
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #14  
    Lori is definitely legit and I have purchased a lot from her at high cash value and everything is as it says it is and should be.

    Be careful what you write and how you phrase things if you don;t know what you're talking about. unsolicited emails are one thing but calling someone a scammer or whatnot is not good if its not true.
    Jason Diamond
    The Diamond Bros.

    @jasondiamond


    EPIC-M 512 & EPIC-X 1423 Ti PL and Canon Mounts.

    Leica-R Duclos Cinemod 19,24,28,35,50,80,100

    REDRockets and Sonnet TBolt Rigs Avail.

    Avail NYC and anywhere trains, planes and automobiles go.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #15  
    Senior Member KETCH ROSSi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY
    Posts
    9,943
    No, not a scammer, but yeah I would say a SPAMMER, even so I done business with Lori, I just don't like to be sent all this email blasts, but unfortunately we have so many of this that is not worth getting upset over it.
    KETCH ROSSi | EPIC-M DRAGON M8
    Producer | Director | DoP |
    *CinePhotographer
    __________________________________________________
    *Registered Trademark of RED DIGITAL CINEMA


    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #16  
    Senior Member Harry Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,625
    I've had some contact with Lori. She is definitely legit. It's unfortunate that there is not an "unsubscribe" button, but I'm sure she will remove you from the list if you desire.
    I wouldn't slam those dealers to hard. One day an email might come in with an item you are looking for, or a requested item that you are looking to sell! ;)
    Cheers,
    Harry
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #17  
    Senior Member Harry Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,625
    BTW,
    Here is the text of an email I got back in February. A dozen or so rental houses and individuals were cc'd:

    Hello,
    I´m a rent house from Brazil.
    I would like to know if you have any cooke lenses or angenieux 24x290 to sell or know anyone that wants to sell?
    I appreciate any information.
    Thanks,

    We all had a good laugh. One fellow from a rental house in NY chimed in a response, "no, but I know of some we want back…"
    Big difference between that email and one from a known reseller.
    Cheers,
    Harry
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #18  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    19
    Man you really have to relax a little Will. So uptight. She even says she will remove you from her list if you prefer.

    Why didn't you just do that?

    Lori is easy going and extremely reliable in the industry. I complete sales with her all the time as a seller and buyer. She is an honest business person who was simply reaching out to you.

    I pull email addresses from the Reduser forum in hopes of having the ability to buy or sell to users on here. I tell people where I got their email if they ask, and am upfront about my purpose.

    You should get the link from Jeff's email, and decompress for a little.

    If she can, Lori will save you money.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #19  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NY, NY
    Posts
    19
    What had happened with the Angenieux lenses?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #20  
    Senior Member Harry Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    1,625
    There have been numerous thefts of gear in New York, and the number one items being singled out for theft are lenses. There have been many 24-290's taken even while the rest of the camera package is left behind.
    The NYPD task force detective I spoke with regarding the theft of my lenses a couple of years ago specifically said that many stolen items have been found in Central and South America.
    I think that comment was the rental house owner's snarky joke, implying that the person phishing with that email (being from Brazil) was obviously in on the action, and probably already had one or two of his (former) 24-290's.
    Not that I agree, mind you. Just a funny moment.
    Cheers,
    Harry
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts