Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: 4K Delivery... get ready.

Reply to Thread
Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 263233343536
Results 351 to 359 of 359
  1. #351  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    121
    I think Jim or Jared mentioned that the Toshiba screens were the only one that could handle 4K 60 but you have to have their breakout box to make it work.

    Larry
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #352  
    Senior Member Brian F Kobylarz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norwich, CT. USA
    Posts
    1,234
    Fibre.

    Can handle all of the information.
    Getting less expensive all the time.
    Future proof.
    Distance - no problem.

    Note: Why distance? Think of digital signage in large venues (such as an airport). Stack of linked REDRAY's could feed a huge video wall. Or a cinema house serving 2K or 4K to different rooms from a central area.

    Wrong thread to bring up the possibilities for the camera end of things...
    (So I'll save those thoughts)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #353  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Macau
    Posts
    2,371
    A bit of threadjacking , but still on topic... I was one of tbose that was holding on a redray purchase, but a recent important project came up and redray is perfect for it: video instalation with 3 4k panels. Anyone knows if these LG's or Sony's can be videowalled? Can a redray power 4 1080p panels to make one huge 4K screen? Is there software capable of this? More importantly, when can we encode for .red?
    Sérgio Perez

    Weapon Monstro #03294 "Amochai" in Macau

    Video Director/Creative/Producer


    http://vimeo.com/user1503556

    https://www.youtube.com/user/spzprod..._as=subscriber
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #354  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Does the RedRay player output 4K only via 4 simultaneous HDMI connections or can it do it via only one? Again, my concern is how the RedRay's program content can be input to the first gen 4K TVs.

    You know I was just thinking (always dangerous) about the Sony 84" 4K display I've seen several times. The demo loop I've seen certainly looks like it has pieces of 'live' camera action among the material. I'm assuming this was 4K 60p content from the server that's used in these demos. But then I was thinking if that was even possible given the fact that the display can't handle 4K 60p. So now I'm wondering what was the makeup of the 'live' sequences in the demo loop (possibly 30p)??
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #355  
    Red Team Stuart English's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, Ca
    Posts
    3,643
    Quote Originally Posted by Sergio Perez View Post
    Can a redray power 4 1080p panels to make one huge 4K screen?
    Absolutely, that's one of the key operational modes. All four will be in perfect sync. You'll need to format your four 1920 x 1080 images into a single 3840 x 2160 image in an application such as After Effects, then encode that as the .RED file.

    Player will then split that up into four 1080p outputs on playback. One intresting pint about this is the four 1080p panels can be in any configurations - i.e. make a rectangular, horizontal linear, circular arrangement of panels and animate the video sources accordingly.
    Workflow Wizard
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6.   Click here to go to the next RED TEAM post in this thread.
  #356  
    Red Team Stuart English's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, Ca
    Posts
    3,643
    Quote Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
    Does the RedRay player output 4K only via 4 simultaneous HDMI connections or can it do it via only one? Again, my concern is how the RedRay's program content can be input to the first gen 4K TVs.
    A single cable to 4K displays is typically the way they will be connected - certainly that's the way we connect to both the Sony 4K LCD TV and VPL-VW1000 projector.
    Workflow Wizard
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #357  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Macau
    Posts
    2,371
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart English View Post
    Absolutely, that's one of the key operational modes. All four will be in perfect sync. You'll need to format your four 1920 x 1080 images into a single 3840 x 2160 image in an application such as After Effects, then encode that as the .RED file.

    Player will then split that up into four 1080p outputs on playback. One intresting pint about this is the four 1080p panels can be in any configurations - i.e. make a rectangular, horizontal linear, circular arrangement of panels and animate the video sources accordingly.
    Stuart, that is excellent news! We intend to do something similar to this, but not a "prank". Do you think this is doable? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O29F9fS1J3o

    What if we have more than 4 screens? Say, 10x10 1080p panels to fill a Room floor?

    We plan to do this full Epic, avoiding after effects- but if needed so be it. Could a R3d output of our sequence from Premiere work for encoding .red files in Redcine X? Haven't touched Premiere for a while and don't even know if this is possible, or do we have to go Tiff? Sequence file size not an issue. We just want to creat an absolute "Wow" effect to our audience!
    Sérgio Perez

    Weapon Monstro #03294 "Amochai" in Macau

    Video Director/Creative/Producer


    http://vimeo.com/user1503556

    https://www.youtube.com/user/spzprod..._as=subscriber
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8.   This is the last RED TEAM post in this thread.   #358  
    Red Team Stuart English's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Irvine, Ca
    Posts
    3,643
    Stuart, that is excellent news! We intend to do something similar to this, but not a "prank". Do you think this is doable? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O29F9fS1J3o

    What if we have more than 4 screens? Say, 10x10 1080p panels to fill a Room floor?
    It's four 1080p panels per Player, but the Player also includes an external Sync input ( RS170A Genlock ) so that will in due course allow us to lock all the video outputs from multiple players to the same Sync source - such as an AJA Gen 10 or equivalent.
    Workflow Wizard
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #359  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Macau
    Posts
    2,371
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuart English View Post
    It's four 1080p panels per Player, but the Player also includes an external Sync input ( RS170A Genlock ) so that will in due course allow us to lock all the video outputs from multiple players to the same Sync source - such as an AJA Gen 10 or equivalent.
    Thanks for the info Stuart. Are we close to release of both encoding and the release of Redray? Project in May...
    Sérgio Perez

    Weapon Monstro #03294 "Amochai" in Macau

    Video Director/Creative/Producer


    http://vimeo.com/user1503556

    https://www.youtube.com/user/spzprod..._as=subscriber
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts