Click here to go to the first RED TEAM post in this thread.   Thread: confused... 5K look around on scarlet?

Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21  
    Senior Member Matthew Scott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    1,150
    Quote Originally Posted by Björn Benckert View Post
    Nope the SDI/HDMI downscale actually is very well interpolated, not to be compared with the 5D linskipping or such. It's actually when recorded in 10bit with redlogfilm very comparable with Alexa non raw footage... except, RED host a higher downsampling, allows for simultaneous 4k center frame raw capture and also gets the capture from a larger sensor...
    Bjorn is right! In fact, I have found when comparing a software-encoded 4:2:2 10-bit prores from RedCine to the captured at Samurai Prores, the Samurai is sharper and has less noise. The interpolation is alias free and very nice :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #22  
    Senior Member Bob Gundu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Toronto, ON Canada
    Posts
    5,703
    They all do 10Bit but most will not do 60P. 60P only at 720, and 30p at 1080.


    Quote Originally Posted by Björn Benckert View Post
    Are there recorders that do 60p 10bit process? If so thats the one i would go for :)
    ___________________________

    VFX, Cinematographer, Photographer
    10 frame handles
    Vimeo
    EPIC-X "SHAI"
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #23  
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Matthew Scott View Post
    Bjorn is right! In fact, I have found when comparing a software-encoded 4:2:2 10-bit prores from RedCine to the captured at Samurai Prores, the Samurai is sharper and has less noise. The interpolation is alias free and very nice :)
    Really? So why doen't Red offer the option of actually recording it?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #24  
    Senior Member Peter Majtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tokyo, Japan
    Posts
    2,958
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonas Kvist Jensen View Post
    Really? So why doen't Red offer the option of actually recording it?
    They do. It is called the HDMI and/or SDI + external recorder.
    The Scarlet is RAW camera. You can not downscale and stay RAW.
    You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!
    www.petermajtan.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #25  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    London
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBied View Post
    Set your display to mode 'clean' rather than overlays. The darkened look-around region will not be shown.
    But then you lose the overlays.. My config is HDMI with UI for Operator's monitor, SDI - clean for Hyperdeck. Ideally I'd like to see enable/disable around shading.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #26  
    Member Vladislav Grausbard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    40
    The UltraStudio 3D model supports uncompressed RGB 4:4:4 workflows up to full resolution 2K. http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/prod...o3d/techspecs/
    HD Format Support 720p50, 720p59.94, 720p60, 1080PsF23.98, 1080PsF24, 1080PsF25, 1080PsF29.97, 1080PsF30, 1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97, 1080p30, 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60, 1080p50, 1080p59.94, 1080p60.

    Multiple Rate support SDI, HDMI and component analog video connections are switchable between standard definition and high definition. SDI switches between 270 Mb/s standard definition SDI, 1.5 Gb/s HD-SDI and 3 Gb/s HD and 2K SDI.
    Tomorrow I will test Ultrastudio3d. Maybe I can take 1080p60 from Scarlet SDI port.
    Scarlet-X #02718 "MILA"
    www.altproduction.com
    T
    witter
    Vimeo
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #27  
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Majtan View Post
    They do. It is called the HDMI and/or SDI + external recorder.
    The Scarlet is RAW camera. You can not downscale and stay RAW.
    I guess, that actually makes sense :-)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #28  
    Senior Member Patrick Grossien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,186
    Quote Originally Posted by Vladislav Grausbard View Post
    The UltraStudio 3D model supports uncompressed RGB 4:4:4 workflows up to full resolution 2K. http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/prod...o3d/techspecs/
    HD Format Support 720p50, 720p59.94, 720p60, 1080PsF23.98, 1080PsF24, 1080PsF25, 1080PsF29.97, 1080PsF30, 1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97, 1080p30, 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60, 1080p50, 1080p59.94, 1080p60.

    Multiple Rate support SDI, HDMI and component analog video connections are switchable between standard definition and high definition. SDI switches between 270 Mb/s standard definition SDI, 1.5 Gb/s HD-SDI and 3 Gb/s HD and 2K SDI.
    Tomorrow I will test Ultrastudio3d. Maybe I can take 1080p60 from Scarlet SDI port.
    Problem with the UltraStudio Decks is that you need a running laptop to record to drives, or is there a standalone possibility and I'm just missing it?

    SCARLET-X "Mathilda"

    "Life is full of obstacles. They never end. The ones that get past them have the richest life."
    jim jannard

    "if your pictures aren't good enough, you aren't close enough."
    robert capa
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #29  
    Senior Member Björn Benckert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,778
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Grossien View Post
    Problem with the UltraStudio Decks is that you need a running laptop to record to drives, or is there a standalone possibility and I'm just missing it?
    There is no standalone version, But it works great in the other end of the cable.... sitting over at your reference monitor.

    Quite a nice little box, no external power needed just hook it to your macbook air with thunderbolt and it gets power from there.
    We are making a "capture tool" for it at the moment hoping to grab tc and record on/off from the camera... testing at them moment but it looks promising.

    But it would be allot better if RED just stepped up and made that Proxy module. Would love to get DnxHD on a separate card. Would love if that card was the same size mags as we use today, would love not to need to by have different cards/readers etc.


    And if they get the proxy module to do 2k 10bit from the 5k lookaround from the scarlet they are on par with the proress path of the current alexa but with bigger sensor. Think that would be very cool.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se
    Flame - 3D - Epic - HAWK C 35-135mm - Milo MoCo - Droidworx Mikrokopter
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #30  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    1,995
    I would love to see a video of 5k-at-1080p stuff scaling through the ISOs... I used the Samurai at ISO800 and it was grainless even though the shot was light with practicals/tungsten and underexposed (compared to the original raw 4k outputted to 1080p prores via RCXp.) In other words, there's a visible difference on a 1080p monitor.

    My only problem is that I hate having to use a 3rd party option when I'm sure RED could offer a better one (although, I'm not sure how happy they would be with Scarlet users getting "5k>1080p" downscale). Not only does it compress to 10bit prores pre-R3Draw allowing for cleaner footage (at any ISO), but the bigger frame size should actually be a slightly brighter image as well (or is that bad logic?)
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts