PDA

View Full Version : Suggestion: Wireless Audio

Christoffer Glans
07-27-2014, 04:42 AM
I'm not a developer myself and I'm not hundred percent sure this might be done, but I think it's time to change how we work with audio.
As an editor, I'm sick and tired of being handed material where there were complications on set and "some files" might not sync together. It happens more times than it needs to and calling out for professionalism on set is never going to happen, it's not that simple. These problems with "certain files" make the whole syncing process a detective job where I spend a day just organizing all the files into synced working ones.

So I just think it's odd that there aren't any good high quality wireless solutions affordable. We use lavalier mics all the time, but why not a solution for the whole sound?
Having the sound operator use the same equipment as always, but add hardware that send audio to the camera that can later be used in editing.

The design should be something like:

1. Sound operator use a mixer and an external recorder combined with an audio transfer through redlink to the camera.
2. The camera has an antenna that can receive a clean signal in most situations. It also has a spike or noise detection so problems with the sound can be seen on display if monitoring sound is impractical.
3. If there were to be any problems with the audio transfer, the regular external recorder still has all the audio so an editor can fix certain files if needed.
4. To support the backup files, the timecode is wirelessly synced through the redlink device the sound operator has.

Hopefully someone with hardware/software developer skills could figure this out, because it would be awesome.

Mikael Lubtchansky
07-27-2014, 05:41 AM
Hello