Thread: BackBlaze B2 Cloud Storage anyone?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. #1 BackBlaze B2 Cloud Storage anyone? 
    Anyone using BackBlaze B2 cloud storage for online media storage? Other price competitive products you're using? I'm not a post professional (yet) but seem to need to backup/store 60-80 TB per year. I have no investment in LTO so looking at cloud to start offsite storage.

10TB Easystores are going for $200 right now. Depending on your internet and bank access, keeping hard drives in a safety deposit box might be easier. It definitely would be cheaper.

Thanks for the reply.
    Everything is on hard drives now. Lifespan is a concern, especially older drives (some are over 12 yrs old- Firewire, esata, and yeah, sometimes I wonder why I feel compelled to save the data). At this time, 2019, just not planning to add LTO. I'm not a post house nor full time post professional.
    I also store 35mm and 16mm but that's another story...

Personally, I don't get cloud site backups for video professionals, that have countless terabytes of data storage. I build a 100 TB QNAP server for a client in Washington DC, and they wanted to start using Backblaze B2 to back it up. I said "ok" (what did I know).
    So Backblaze mailed them a "box" and said "back it up to this, and send it back to us". The "box" turned out to be an off the shelf Synology. So when you want to backup 100 Gigs of data - no problem. But when you want to backup a ton of data, companies like