Thread: Kinefinity MAVO Edge

Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 37 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 369
  1. #31  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Sarajevo
    Posts
    980
    Quote Originally Posted by R. Gonzales View Post
    It's been a while since I've posted. This camera confuses me a bit. Anyone in the know, please help me out with an informed answer. If red has patented recording a compressed raw video signal internally in a camera, then how is it that Infinity can record Pro Res raw in camera without getting a court challenge? Are they paying a license fee? Is Pro Res raw not compressed? Love to hear what you all might have to say.

    Thanks.

    RG
    Well, RED may have patented recording a compressed raw video signal internally in a camera but haven't patented Kinefinity AFAIK. I guess Kinefinity doesn't work for RED, doesn't take RED's orders.

    E:
    I see now that Misha already answered this, so ignore this post. :)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #32  
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Tresch View Post
    Yes, strange design choice, they could have put some TA3 connectors...
    Ugh...


    Quote Originally Posted by rand thompson View Post
    Yep, XLR with the specs below
    Thanks Rand.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #33  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11,075
    You're welcome Hrvoje!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #34  
    Senior Member Jaime Vallés's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,793
    Looks fantastic on paper! Can't wait to see if the footage matches up with the specs.

    But, yes, if it had good auto focus this thing would be a beast.
    Jaime Vallés

    AJV Media
    Video, photography & graphic design
    www.ajvmedia.com
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #35  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11,075
    Has anybody else noticed that some of the newer higher Resolution cameras all seem to have a similar button placement, 3 buttons on top and bottom, and menu layout and rotary dial as the Arri Alexa cameras do?


    Arri Alexa LF




    Sony Venice



    Kinefinity Mavo Edge

    Last edited by rand thompson; 04-27-2020 at 08:29 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #36  
    Senior Member Audy Erel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Jakarta-Bandung, Indonesia (Bali)
    Posts
    277
    RED, please enable the dormant 6K sensor area on my Scarlet-W and I promise I won't buy or even look at this Mavo Edge 8K! :-)

    Oh also:
    - Release a firmware to enable third party SSDs, and
    - Enable the 3D LUT with basic playback.
    SCARLET-W #004760
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #37  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    440
    Quote Originally Posted by rand thompson View Post
    Has anybody else noticed that some of the newer higher Resolution cameras all seem to have a similar button placement, 3 buttons on top and bottom, and menu layout and rotary dial as the Arri Alexa cameras do?
    That's because the reference for Cinema and 1st ACs has been the Alexa since 2010. Every AC wants to keep it simple and like this. No complex menu scrolling. So basically that layout says "Cinema" and positions the camera for the market. Call it fashion, but it works.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #38  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11,075
    Thanks for the info C. Burkhart.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #39  
    Senior Member rand thompson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    11,075
    Everyone and their mother seems to be coming out with an 8K compact camera!


    https://www.newsshooter.com/2020/04/...nt=Newsshooter
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #40  
    Quote Originally Posted by Audy Erel View Post
    RED, please enable the dormant 6K sensor area on my Scarlet-W and I promise I won't buy or even look at this Mavo Edge 8K! :-)

    Oh also:
    - Release a firmware to enable third party SSDs, and
    - Enable the 3D LUT with basic playback.
    +1 for third party media, whether SSDs or CFexpress. Also, think of the advantage of enabling internal ProRes Raw in the Komodo. Would probably be the only U.S. cam to have the feature. Opening up is better for the end users. 12SGI out and internal cast express media. No more proprietary media mags and limited i/os. Open it all up. That's what others are providing and what the people want. On a inside note: why the hell are cam manufactures will using 1.5/3g SDI out? Canons (and some others) already have 12G SDI out.

    How long before we see Geminis/Monstros with high speed i/0s, internal cFast express slots, ect. Things are moving faster, Red. You should too. But none of this will matter to me if the Komodo's picture IQ/color science/workflow is better. Specs aside, I'l go with the one that produces better looking images. I guess we'll find out eventually. Which goes son sale first? Wanna make a bet?

    Monstro is still the best 8k cinematic camera in my opinion. Love it, but can't afford it :-( Doubt that this Mavo will come close that that.
    Last edited by Carlos Garcia-Diaz; 04-27-2020 at 09:31 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts