Thread: I can buy only 2 anamorphic lens - which ones??

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 I can buy only 2 anamorphic lens - which ones?? 
    I have been drooling over anamorphic lens for the last couple of years.

At this point, I am looking at the Xelmus Apollo 2X, but I can afford only 2 lens.

Since I am new to anamorphics, I wonder, which 2 lens would complement for the most useful set:
    40mm + 60mm or 40mm + 100mm ?

Will be shooting mostly with S35 sensor size.

You could always start with just one Lens and add the Atlas LF extender which will give you a longer effective focal length when used in combination with your one lens.

40 + 1.6x Extender = ~65mm

https://atlaslensco.com/products/atlas-16x-lf-extender

That seems great, but I am looking at Xelmus.
    I was also looking for Atlas, but it seems their preorder time will be more than 1 year.

40mm + 75mm is probably more practical for shooting interior scenes than a 100mm but barely, it's hard to work with just two.
    David Mullen, ASC
    Los Angeles
    http://www.davidmullenasc.com

Re: Atlas.
    How about 40 + 80 + 1.6x extender? Then on the S35 sensor you have 40, ~65, 80, ~130.

Depending on what s35 camera you have I actually skip the extender. The result using a extender and cropping in on the sensor is quite equal in terms of image quality loss.

If you crop in you loose sensor resolution / get a little bit more noise.

If you use an extender then you loose exposure and ”lens resolution” / your lens becomes softer.

So its not a given whats the best option of the two. If you shoot helium for example then croping down to 6k is as I see it a better option than adding a extender if you aim for a 4k finnish.

I did a test for a client using monstro and my 40,65,100 atlas lenses shooting 8:9 2xana (final image is 16:9 anamorphic) using each lens at 8k,7k,6k 8:1 x2 ana at 10:1 compression.