Thread: Komodo Multi-Cam Start/Stop Record Control?!?

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1 Komodo Multi-Cam Start/Stop Record Control?!? 
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Hey fellow Redusers,
    I know there is already something in the works, but not soon enough I am afraid...

    Is there anything out now that can sync at list 3-Komodo cameras to Wirelessly Start/Stop recording on them simultaneously?

    Thanks...
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    So cool!
    Looking forward to that Ketch!

    Just for Sync, I'd look no further than a Tentacle for each camera + a cable to the Komodo from thomsonvisuals.com

    But there's also a "hack" of sorts that I just tested with two cameras.
    You can use a Tilta Nucleus N remote and many Nucleus N motors hooked up to each Komodo for R/S
    Tune them all to the same frequency and then you can use the single trigger form the Nucleus Remote to Run/Stop all of the connected cameras.

    For the control and 1 camera you will need:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...s_control.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    And then for each additional Komodo:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...motor_kit.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    I hope this helps.
    Formerly known as "nutman"
    ||| RED ONE #1333 ||| Epic-X #1003 |||
    ||| RED Hydrogen Houdini #0034 Titanium #1014 |||
    H4Vuser
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    612
    Hi Ketch,

    On the earlier bigger reds, it was possible to do this using a Schmitt trigger and the GEN/SYNC BNC RED pigtails cable which I think went into the little lemo sync from something like a GEN10 which has 6 bnc outputs. Not sure about Komodo though as I dont have one. Someone good with electronics could custom make you one if time and budget permits? I think Madly Fins and OffHollywood used to make similar devices / cables back in the day when stereo3D was still a thing. I found this with a bit of Googling:

    https://support.red.com/hc/en-us/art...ote-Start-Stop

    Good luck!

    Craig Lees
    UK
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Karydis View Post
    So cool!
    Looking forward to that Ketch!

    Just for Sync, I'd look no further than a Tentacle for each camera + a cable to the Komodo from thomsonvisuals.com

    But there's also a "hack" of sorts that I just tested with two cameras.
    You can use a Tilta Nucleus N remote and many Nucleus N motors hooked up to each Komodo for R/S
    Tune them all to the same frequency and then you can use the single trigger form the Nucleus Remote to Run/Stop all of the connected cameras.

    For the control and 1 camera you will need:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...s_control.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    And then for each additional Komodo:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...motor_kit.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    I hope this helps.
    Hey Gregory,
    I will be using a Tentacle Sync E on each Camera and Tentacle Track E devices for Wireless Audio.

    I'll check the Nucleus out and test thanks.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig Lees View Post
    Hi Ketch,

    On the earlier bigger reds, it was possible to do this using a Schmitt trigger and the GEN/SYNC BNC RED pigtails cable which I think went into the little lemo sync from something like a GEN10 which has 6 bnc outputs. Not sure about Komodo though as I dont have one. Someone good with electronics could custom make you one if time and budget permits? I think Madly Fins and OffHollywood used to make similar devices / cables back in the day when stereo3D was still a thing. I found this with a bit of Googling:

    https://support.red.com/hc/en-us/art...ote-Start-Stop

    Good luck!

    Craig Lees
    UK
    Thanks Craig,
    I'll check in to this.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    109
    UPDATE: a few hours after posting the message below, I got an email with a full refund of the $300, an apology from Alex from thomsonvisuals.com and they wanted to fix my issue at no cost. Turns out that my emails for repairing the bad cable fell through the cracks and this post had them go back and review emails and found mine. I intend on returning the money to them and get my cable fixed like originally planned, I don;t want them to be out any money since I know LEMO connectors are expensive. This is a good company and I wouldn't hesitate buying from them again, now that the communication error has been resolved.

    I would be careful with thomsonvisuals.com

    I hired them months back to build custom cables for my Komodo The cost was $300 for 2 cable. When they arrived one cable worked great but the other cable to power my follow focus motor did not. They quickly had it sent back to them and they returned it, but still again it was not working. I tried to contact them multiple times about it after, but never heard back from them, they ghosted me. Going from quick response to no response.

    Alex the guy I corresponded with was very friendly and always replied quickly.

    I won't be using them or recommending them to anyone else.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Wikstrom View Post
    I would be careful with thomsonvisuals.com

    I hired them months back to build custom cables for my Komodo The cost was $300 for 2 cable. When they arrived one cable worked great but the other cable to power my follow focus motor did not. They quickly had it sent back to them and they returned it, but still again it was not working. I tried to contact them multiple times about it after, but never heard back from them, they ghosted me. Going from quick response to no response.

    Alex the guy I corresponded with was very friendly and always replied quickly.

    I won't be using them or recommending them to anyone else.
    Sorry to hear that Lars!

    However I will be building my all of my own Custom Cables for the Komodo Cameras for this project.

    Likely to Partner Up with Maxx Digital and a Highly Specialized Professional Cable builder company and might even offer them up for all Komodo Users ;)
    This would not be cheap, but would be of the highest quality standards possible and will be a perfect harmony match for the Komodo ;)
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Junior Member Alex Zeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Gmund, Germany
    Posts
    10
    Quote Originally Posted by Ketch Rossi View Post
    Thanks Craig,
    I'll check in to this.
    The Komodo version of this is here:
    https://support.red.com/hc/en-us/art...ODO-Start-Stop
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Zeder View Post
    The Komodo version of this is here:
    https://support.red.com/hc/en-us/art...ODO-Start-Stop
    Thank you Alex, know the ins and out by heart ;)

    Just hoping to find a perfect solution to trigger this bad boys at once.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Quote Originally Posted by Gregory Karydis View Post
    So cool!
    Looking forward to that Ketch!

    Just for Sync, I'd look no further than a Tentacle for each camera + a cable to the Komodo from thomsonvisuals.com

    But there's also a "hack" of sorts that I just tested with two cameras.
    You can use a Tilta Nucleus N remote and many Nucleus N motors hooked up to each Komodo for R/S
    Tune them all to the same frequency and then you can use the single trigger form the Nucleus Remote to Run/Stop all of the connected cameras.

    For the control and 1 camera you will need:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...s_control.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    And then for each additional Komodo:
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...motor_kit.html
    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...cable_for.html
    And a power supply for the motor.

    I hope this helps.
    To hit record via cable is not locking the cameras on a sub frame level, it ´s more like starting them on the same second. As the clock frequency of each camera is different. You need one camera to be master and the others slaving to it like you can do with DSMC2. I´m not sure this is possible with Komodo as of now. Like Kieth writes.
    Björn Benckert
    Creative Lead & Founder Syndicate Entertainment AB
    +46855524900 www.syndicate.se/axis
    VFX / Flame / Motion capture / Monstro
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts