Thread: 5inch vs 7inch on camera monitor for the Komodo

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1 5inch vs 7inch on camera monitor for the Komodo 
    Hi all,

    I've ordered a 7inch SmallHD monitor for my Komodo, but the lead times are around 8 weeks, ouch.

    All this waiting has got me thinking, is 7inch too large for an on-camera monitor for the Komodo?
    I've seen photographs online with the 5inch and it seems like the perfect size for the body, but I also prefer working with a larger monitor for framing and easier focus on smaller jobs.

    Has anyone tried a 7inch monitor with the Komodo? Is it too large?
    I'm interested to hear people's opinions, see photos of rigs with a 7inch to make sure I've made the right choice.

    The 5inch is in stock locally so if I switched I could start shooting right away.

    Thanks!
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Moderator Phil Holland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,069
    To date I've used both. I'd say it's about 65-70% of time a 7", 30-35% a 5".

    Don't think a 7" is too big, but I can say a 5" is smaller when you want to rig with more of a compact setup in mind. I prefer the 7" overall from a usability perspective. Not a shocker there.
    Phil Holland - Cinematographer - Los Angeles
    ________________________________
    phfx.com IMDB
    PHFX | tools

    2X RED Monstro 8K VV Bodies, 1X RED Komodo, and a lot of things to use with them.

    Data Sheets and Notes:
    Red Weapon/DSMC2
    Red Dragon
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Thanks Phil,

    I think I'll stick with the 7" as well. Definitely more usable and I'll very rarely use the komodo with just a lens, monitor, and bp batteries, so a 7" doesn't really change the overall rig size too much.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    I used 7” on-cam monitors for years(the slightly ahead of its time, still my most beloved monitors, the smallHD DP7 Pro OLED touchscreen). Then smallHD came out with the Focus line of 5” monitors and I bought several of them and they became my go-to’s, because of their smaller size and ease of rigging.

    Last weekend one of my Focus OLED SDI’s $h!t the bed. It started wigging out like someone was constantly touching the screen and zooming in on the image and changing pages, etc., so I broke out one of my DP7 Pro OLED’s(I carry both a DP7Pro and Focus 5 in each cam support bag). What a beast, after using the Focus 5’s for so long. Yes, it was easier to see and it was fine, as I was using it while I was on stix, but I don’t think I would want to run around handheld with it. At least not for long(and I say this as someone who’s average camera build is probably ~25-30lbs+).
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    9
    the 6" FeelWorld LUT6S 6" 2600 cd/m 4K HDMI/3G-SDI is a good size compromise
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Senior Member Ketch Rossi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ITALY | USA
    Posts
    14,736
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Poston View Post
    the 6" FeelWorld LUT6S 6" 2600 cd/m 4K HDMI/3G-SDI is a good size compromise
    This is what I am currently testing, mainly for the good compromise and high brightness and an insane price.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    463
    I ordered one of these too. Hoping to love it. 5 can be a bit small. 7 is a bit big/heavy. For under $400 we'll see how the LUT6S pans out. Super bonus, it passes SDI through to HDMI output to use with the RS2. <<<--- EDIT: NO IT DOESN'T >>>

    Quote Originally Posted by Lee Poston View Post
    the 6" FeelWorld LUT6S 6" 2600 cd/m 4K HDMI/3G-SDI is a good size compromise
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Sorry little off topic ....But can the small HD touch screen also be used for focus?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  9. #9  
    Senior Member William Long's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sweden & France
    Posts
    379
    Has anybody tried the Osee G7 7'' Ultra-Bright 3000 Nits 19201200 ?

    Does the toggle control work well for zooming in to check focus?
    Reply With Quote  
     

  10. #10  
    Senior Member Wil Wong's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    868
    I have the Osee G7. For the price, it is fantastic.

    The menu controls are not the most intuitive but once create a page with the tools you want (like peaking or histogram etc.) it is very easy to bring up and very easy to switch between pages aka "sets". Zooming is pretty straight forward using the joystick.

    No touch screen but as mentioned for the price and brightness and putting in the RED LUT to match the screens, it is great.

    I just wish they had a 5inch SDI version. I'd like something for run and gun setups.
    Movme inc.
    Scarlet-X, Epic-X, Dragon, Epic-W, Komodo
    MacBook Pro 6 core, FCP-X, OSEE, Dynacore Tiny Batteries, DJI RS2
    Reply With Quote  
     

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts