Thread: Sigma FP vs Komodo

Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. #1 Sigma FP vs Komodo 
    I own a Sigma FP (the original non "L" version) and I've enjoyed it so far but I'm strongly considering a Komodo. I'm an artist and I shoot mostly on a tripod cinema style artistic personal projects. Lately lots of rivers and urban landscapes. I don't love working with the Sigma files- they are big and heavy and take quite a bit to process them easily in Resolve. I do like it's size.

I've rented a Komodo for the weekend and I'm trying it out. My first impression is that the files are very easy to work with and the quality really has a nice feel to it. I thought maybe not being a full frame sensor would be a problem but I don't really feel that way.

Anyways, I'd love to hear some thoughts on the Sigma FP and what advantages a Komodo may have over the Sigma.

Thanks!

I have both and love both. I did a test shoot with them and used the DZOFILM 20-55mm on one and the 50-125 on the other. On the Sigma FP (Older non L version) I shot 12 bit raw and I have to say when I got them in Resolve it was hard to see the difference right off the bat. I could easily use this as a b camera and inter-cut the footage just fine. I will use my Komodo on productions here and use my Sigma FP when I travel since it is more compact. No reason you can't have both cameras.

I wish the sigma FP had an EF mount. Thats my only hang up with it or I would have one.
    DSMC2 GEMINI + STORMTROOPER KOMODO

would love to see some graded footage of the Sigma Fp if you guys have anything online.
    Dr. Dominik Münch D.O.C.A
    Filmmaker & Cinematographer
    Epic-W "Lucy"
    http://www.instagram.com/drdominikmuench

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Reese View Post
    I wish the sigma FP had an EF mount. Thats my only hang up with it or I would have one.

there is a sigma EF to L adapter.
    Epic-W "Lucy"

Quote Originally Posted by Dominik Muench View Post
    there is a sigma EF to L adapter.