Thread: Meike FF Cine vs DZOFilm Vespids

Reply to Thread
  1. #1 Meike FF Cine vs DZOFilm Vespids 
    Disclaimer #1: I own sets of DZOFilm Vespid and Zeiss Supremes. I paid full retail value from local distributors and B&H. The Meike full frame primes were lent to me by a friend, I had them for two weeks. CP3 and Otus were lent to me by Zeiss for the purpose of this testing, I had them for one week. Charts for testing were given to me by Zeiss.

Disclaimer #2: I am not a professional or expert. I am not Duclos.

TL:DR
    They're more like opposite than similar, it really comes to down preferences. They have different strengths and weaknesses with very little overlap.

Lenses tested:
    Meike FF Primes: 35/50/85
    DZOfilm Vespid: 35/50/75/100
    Also compared:
    Zeiss Supreme: 35/50/85
    Zeiss CP3: 28/50/100
    Zeiss Otus: 28/55/85
    Canon RF 50L

Size/Weight:
    This is a big difference. Using the 50mm as an example, the Meike is 50% heavier and 27% longer than the Vespid. The Meike is closer in weight to my Supreme than it is my Vespid. The Vespids are smaller/lighter than Meike's s35 lenses too.

Wide Open Sharpness:
    Meike has good sharpness in the center, and good sharpness in the edges. Vespids have good sharpness in the center, but get softer in the edges. Supremes are very visibly sharper than both even at T1.5 across the frame. Otus is very impressive.

Wide Open CA: